Sharing Meeting Access

Enable collaboration with teammates, especially when they aren’t meeting attendees, with Meeting Access. Meeting Access opens up the meeting to the appropriate people to foster discussion and post-meeting dialogue.

There are two types of meeting access.

1) Manage Access

2) View Access

After the meeting is complete, share access with others to hear their perspectives. Access for each user can be added, edited, or removed at any time.

Default access

By default, the owner of the Powow meeting will be granted Manage Access and all users of Powow who were invited by the Owner will be given View Access. Learn how to invite Powow together with other participants here.

note-icon If the invitation system you use does not share the meeting participants in the invite, you will need to share access with participants manually (e.g. WebEx web-based invites).

Access window

You can find the Access button within any meeting on the toolbar next to the Participants list. Click to view users in the list and make desired changes.

When selected, a window will pop up showing two tabs:

Share Access to a user

To share access to a meeting, you must have Manage Access or be the Owner (if a meeting is set to Private).

Give Access to a group of users

If there are common groups of users you share access to your meetings, try using Access Groups. Forming groups of users for access in advance will make this process more efficient.

To set up your personal, custom Access Groups, use the Access Groups feature in the Settings section of the web app sidebar.

Delegating meeting ownership

Powow supports meeting delegates, which allows a user to remain the owner of meetings that a delegate (assistant, etc) has scheduled for that user. In this case, the user who ultimately becomes the owner of the meeting is referred to as the Delegate Supervisor.

With Powow, a user can transfer the ownership of all upcoming meetings scheduled from his/her account to another user in the same organization. Meetings ownership will be transferred to the Delegate Supervisor’s account. The user that has delegated ownership will not have access to the meeting.

This feature allows a busy manager to maintain ownership of meetings even if he/she is not the one sending out meeting invites. In this use case the delegate configures the Delegate Supervisor field in their profile to the appropriate user.

Learn how to set this up in the Profile details article.

Share access with your manager automatically

Users can designate a Powow user as their manager, which will give that user View Access to all meetings owned by their subordinates. Once set up, your manager will appear automatically in the access tab of all meetings that you organize.

Learn how to set this up in the Profile details article.

The manager’s access can be removed or changed to the Can Manage role at any time.

As Manager, you can have multiple subordinates. You will get View Access to all the meetings within workgroups you are a member of.

Association - based access

Organization Admins can customize associations in the organization to mirror how your company is structured.

Using Access Control feature, each association can be linked to a set of users with defined access roles (view or manage). This allows you to use Associations as a tool to give immediate access to a group of users.

Once the Association is set up with its members, a meeting owner or user with manage access can tag the meeting with various Associations via the meeting properties. Once tagged, access will automatically be shared.

Access Controls are only applied to meetings that are not set as Private.

If you prefer to keep the meeting private - just activate the privacy key, before adding associations to your meeting. You can also delete users from access manually at any time. See below for instructions.

Associations are not only made to give instant access. These are widely used to tag and search for a quick meeting navigation. Learn more here.

Share access with your Workgroup

Like Associations, you can share access to all members of your workgroup. Add as many users as you’d like to your Workgrops in Access Controls and give them access roles.

Once the meeting is in the web app, the set of users built in Access Control will appear in the access tab, depending in which Workgroup the meeting is submitted.

Click here to learn how to choose the Workgroup for invite from the web app. And here to learn more about Workgroups.

To avoid Access Control syncing with Workgroups, simply activate the privacy keybefore the meeting starts (when the meeting is still in “scheduled” status).

Not all members of the Workgroup automatically get access to all meetings. Users must be added in Access Control and can be members of various Workgroups. To learn how to add users to the workgroup read this article.

Edit Access

If you need to restrict, upgrade, or remove access, use the more key next to each name.

To Edit:

To Delete:

section-icon Are you not sure what users with different access levels are allowed to do in the shared meeting? Read this article to explore more about meeting permissions.

Go back to the top